Jackson in Southeast

Hi! My Name Is Jackson in Southeast

We're happy to tell you that Jackson in Southeast has a new furever home.
Please visit our Available Dogs Page to see the pups currently available.

Hi. I’m Jackson and I’m looking for a special family to adopt me. I just had my first birthday, so I went to the vet and had a special boy procedure done.  So ‘m ready to be adopted when the right family comes along.

I am housebroken and I ring a bell when I need to go outside. I’m a very smart boy!  I do bark when there’s someone at the door. And I bark at other strange animals and strange humans when I’m in the yard. I love being outdoors.  Loud noises like the vacuum and thunderstorms scare me.  I get along with humans all sizes and all ages.  I also get along with other dogs, but I haven’t been around any large dogs yet. I also have spent some time with puppies and a cat.  They don't bother me at all. I do love to play with toys.  Sometimes i get a bit rough with them and they need to go to the dog toy hospital for repair.

I like riding in the car and I do really well at the vet.  I’ve been there a lot because when I first came to rescue I was having seizures. My foster got scared so she rushed me to the emergency vet.  After many tests, they discovered I had Wobbler’s Syndrome. Wobbler syndrome is a neurologic disease of dogs that affects their spine in the neck region.  They found that I had a spinal cord compression at C2-C3.  It’s painful so I take three different medicines every day.

1) Prednisone 1 mg tablet daily. This medication is a corticosteroid to reduce inflammation and pain.
2) Gabapentin (Neurontin) 100 mg capsules: 3 times a day (every 8 hours). This medication is to reduce pain and discomfort and is an anti-seizure medication.

3) Amitriptyline 25 mg tablet: twice a day. This medication is to reduce chronic pain and discomfort.

The cost of my meds every month is about $25.  I’m being monitored by a neurologist and i have to see one every 3 months to make sure I’m doing well. My medication schedule is: 6:30am, 2:30pm, 6:30pm, and 10:00pm.

Since I’ve been taking this medicine, I’ve had almost no seizures and much less pain.  I now have more time to play.  I love all balls and squeaky toys and I love to chew on toys and bones.  I even like to watch TV if there are animals on.  My favorite movie is Eight Below.

i love to cuddle with other dogs.  And recently I learned a human lap is a good place to take a nap.  I don't jump on the furniture and I bark when I want attention.  I do tend to follow my foster wherever she goes.

I really like having company, so I’m hoping my forever family will have other pets and an adult that is around during the day.  I’m working on walking on a leash - and i will always need a harness and not a collar when walking.  I love walks.  I do okay when its just me, but i do much better when i have another dog to walk with.  I hope my new family will love going on long walks with me every day.  I also love to play fetch, so a nice big fenced yard would be great.

I’m currently living in Marietta, Georgia so if you live within two hours driving distance from there I’d love to meet you.  Wherever I land, I will need to be near special vets so they can keep an eye on me. Thanks for reading about me.

[ctct form="153"]